_MG_1279ilona5

About me

Fashion, travel, culture, design, architecture – ever since an early age these are the subjects I’ve been passionate about. Fashion, my greatest passion, is something I have seen from all sides: from learning about the practical and theoretical aspects, to taking a sociological and historical interest, as well as examining its technical and aesthetic elements.

After completing my secondary school examinations and a dressmaking apprenticeship, I graduated with a degree in clothing technology, majoring in design. My dissertation was on the topic of the ‘Sociology of Fashion’.

This was followed by a work experience placement in 1999, where the opportunity arose to get a B2B fashion magazine off the ground: J’N’C Magazine, which, in order to cater to its growing international target group, was soon published in both English and German.

Taking a contemporary look at the fashion world, delving behind the scenes of the clothing industry, interviewing the big names in the retail trade, analysing international markets, scouting new trends and showcasing the latest styles in fashion shoots – all of this was at the focus of my many years as editor-in-chief of J’N’C magazine. I was editorially responsible for the entire J’N’C product family, including the website. In 2008 I won the Deutscher ModeMedienpreis (German FashionMedia Award)

Since 2017 I have been working as a freelance journalist, trend consultant, speaker and copywriter. In addition to fashion, I also specialise in food trends and interior design. My clients include brand eins, Lufthansa Exclusive, Neon, The Weekender, Wallpaper, Architektur & Wohnen, Sportswear International, the German Fashion Institute, Walter Knoll, BOA, Edison/Handelsblatt, Focus Style, KTCHNrebel, Läderach and Port Magazine.

Internationality is important to me. Over the course of my journalistic career, I have travelled to numerous metropolises – from Hong Kong to Los Angeles, from Helsinki to Cape Town. This resulted in the production of around 50 city guides, which not only give the lowdown on local fashion scenes, but also provide orientation in terms of the culinary and cultural offer. My network of photographers, stylists and hair and make-up artists, some of whom I have been working with on fashion editorials and lookbooks for two decades, is also international.

 

Services

CONCEPT

Whether B2B, B2C or customer magazines: as a consultant and creative director, I develop print and online media and advise publishers, companies and agencies on their communications strategy. With a network of authors, editors, translators, photographers, graphic designers, programmers, image editors and printers, I transform creative ideas into high-quality contemporary communication products, overseeing the entire development process from A to Z.

COMMUNICATION

When I write texts, I rely first and foremost on my intuition for trends and social currents. My extensive industry knowledge helps me to develop communication strategies. Credible content and a brand-specific approach tailored to the target group are integral to my work as a writer.

EDITORIAL WORK

From interviews, reports and portraits to essays or opinion pieces: developing stories from specific topics is my passion. Informing and entertaining the reader is my mission.

PHOTO PRODUCTIONS

I coordinate photo productions, working together with international teams of photographers, stylists and hair and make-up artists to create fashion editorials and lookbooks. In addition to this, I produce city guides and at-home stories in cooperation with architecture and travel photographers, as well as showcasing interiors and store design.

TREND CONSULTING

As a consultant, on behalf of my clients from the fashion, food and interior design industries, I track down current developments, research and explore colour and design trends and convey the moods and trends of the future. Personalised talks and presentations enable my clients to adapt their products to the latest trends.

Ilona Marx Portrait

Person

Mode, Reisen, Kultur, Design, Architektur – seit meiner Jugend begeistere ich mich für diese Themen. Der Mode gilt meine besondere Leidenschaft. Ihr habe ich mich in meiner Ausbildung von praktischer und theoretischer, soziologischer und geschichtlicher, technischer wie ästhetischer Seite genähert.

Nach Abitur und Schneiderlehre absolvierte ich ein Studium der Bekleidungstechnik mit Schwerpunkt Gestaltung, das ich mit einer Diplomarbeit über die ‚Soziologie der Mode‘ abschloss. Nach einem anschließenden Volontariat bot sich mir 1999 die Gelegenheit, ein B2B-Modemagazin ins Leben zu rufen: das J’N’CMagazin, das dank internationaler Relevanz bald in deutscher und englischer Sprache veröffentlicht wurde. Die Betrachtung der Modewelt und ihrer Protagonisten, der Blick hinter die Kulissen der Bekleidungsbranche, Analysen internationaler Märkte, das Aufspüren und Umsetzen neuer Trends in Fashion Shoots – all das stand im Fokus meiner langjährigen Arbeit als Chefredakteurin des J’N’C Magazins und redaktionell Verantwortlichen für die gesamte J’N’C-Produktfamilie, inklusive des Online-Auftritts. 2008 konnte ich den deutschen ModeMedienpreis gewinnen.

Seit 2017 arbeite ich selbstständig als Autorin, Trend Consultant, Referentin und Texterin. Neben der Mode widme ich mich insbesondere Food-Trends und Interior Design. Zu meinen Kunden gehören brand eins, Lufthansa Exclusive, Neon, The Weekender, Wallpaper, Architektur & Wohnen, Sportswear International, das Deutsche Modeinstitut, Walter Knoll, BOA, Edison/Handelsblatt, Focus Style, KTCHNrebel, Läderach und das britische Port Magazine.

Internationalität ist mir wichtig. Im Rahmen meiner journalistischen Arbeit habe ich zahlreiche Metropolen bereist – von Hongkong bis Los Angeles, von Helsinki bis Kapstadt. Entstanden sind rund 50 Cityguides, die nicht nur die jeweilige Modeszene beleuchten, sondern auch kulinarisch und kulturell den Weg weisen möchten. International ist auch das Netzwerk aus Fotografen, Stylisten und Hair/Make-up Artists, mit denen ich teils seit zwei Jahrzehnten Modestrecken und Lookbooks realisiere.

Leistungen

KONZEPTION

Ob B2B, B2C oder Kundenmagazin: Als Consultant und Kreativdirektorin entwickle ich Print- und Onlinemedien und berate Verlage, Firmen und Agenturen bezüglich ihrer Kommunikationsstrategie. Mit einem Netzwerk aus Autoren, Lektoren, Übersetzern, Fotografen, Grafikdesignern, Programmierern, Bildbearbeitern und Druckern überführe ich kreative Ideen in hochwertige zeitgeistige Kommunikationsprodukte und betreue den gesamten Entstehungsprozess von A bis Z.

KOMMUNIKATION

Wenn ich Texte verfasse, verlasse ich mich zuallererst auf mein Gespür für Trends und gesellschaftliche Strömungen. Bei der Entwicklung von Kommunikationsstrategien hilft mir mein umfassendes Branchenwissen. Glaubwürdige Inhalte und eine markenspezifische, auf die Zielgruppe zugeschnittene Ansprache sind Teil meines Selbstverständnisses als Texterin.

REDAKTION

Seien es Interviews, Reportagen, Porträts, Essays oder Glossen: Aus Themen Geschichten entstehen zu lassen ist meine Leidenschaft. Den Leser zu informieren und gleichzeitig zu unterhalten betrachte ich als meinen Auftrag.

INSZENIERUNG

Ich realisiere Fotoproduktionen, arbeite mit internationalen Teams aus Fotografen, Stylisten und Hair/Make-up Artists zusammen und erstelle Modestrecken und Lookbooks. Darüber hinaus produziere ich in Kooperation mit Architektur- und Reisefotografen Cityguides und Homestorys und setze Einrichtungen und Ladenbauarchitektur in Szene.

TREND CONSULTING

Im Auftrag meiner Kunden aus der Mode-, Food- und Interior-Design-Branche spüre ich als Consultant aktuelle Entwicklungen auf, recherchiere Farb- und Designtrends und vermittle Stimmungen und Strömungen der Zukunft. Maßgeschneiderte Vorträge und Präsentationen ermöglichen meinen Klienten eine unmittelbare Adaption der Neuerungen auf ihre Produktfamilien.